(ASX: CHN) Chalice Mining Financial Review - FY2021~25
An exploration-stage funding story, not an operating-mine earnings story.
Changes are calculated from the selected FY2024 and FY2025 cells. Original comparison notes remain with the tables.
Events behind the numbers
Julimar funding
- A$115m raised
- Resource drilling scaled up
Maiden Gonneville resource
- Less than two years after discovery
- Scoping-study work continued
Study progression
- Scoping study completed; PFS started
- Two resource upgrades
Resource & approvals
- Selective-mining resource remodelled
- State and Commonwealth assessment referrals
Simpler flowsheet; lower spend
- Issuer reported no need for hydrometallurgy
- Exploration and overhead spending reduced
Financing built the cash base; project work consumed it.
Loss for the year attributable to owners
Exploration and evaluation expense
Net cash used in operating activities
Cash and cash equivalents at 30 June
Selected financial and funding measures
A$m| Measure | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 | Δ FY2024→FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Loss for the year attributable to owners | (43.2) | (18.3) | (65.6) | (39.5) | (24.0) | +15.5 |
| Exploration and evaluation expense | (37.3) | (57.9) | (61.8) | (42.5) | N/C | Not calculated |
| Net cash used in operating activities | (37.6) | (61.8) | (59.9) | (44.1) | (17.8) | +26.3 |
| Cash and cash equivalents at 30 June | 99.9 | 131.7 | 145.2 | 89.0 | 70.8 | -18.1 |
Basis: Consolidated statutory disclosures. Exploration expense is an income-statement charge; operating cash flow is a cash measure and is not interchangeable with expense. FY2025 exploration expenditure is the issuer's project-expenditure total.Δ = latest minus previous signed value, calculated before display rounding, in each row’s unit; not an investment return.
Financing cash inflows and issued capital
A$m| Measure | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 | Δ FY2024→FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net cash from/(used in) financing activities | 112.0 | 96.9 | 74.3 | (0.6) | (0.2) | +0.4 |
| Issued capital at 30 June | 189.4 | 285.0 | 359.9 | 367.5 | 368.0 | +0.6 |
Basis: Financing cash flow is as reported in each original-year cash-flow statement. Issued capital is a period-end balance and is shown only where selected evidence supports the row; it is not a cash-flow proxy.Δ = latest minus previous signed value, calculated before display rounding, in each row’s unit; not an investment return.
FY2025 exploration commitments and non-cash boundary
A$m| Measure | FY2025 |
|---|---|
| Exploration commitments within one year | 4.5 |
| Exploration commitments in two to five years | 0.4 |
| Total exploration commitments | 4.9 |
| Right-of-use asset depreciation charge | (0.2) |
| Deferred-tax temporary difference on financial assets | 3.8 |
Basis: Consolidated statutory note disclosures at 30 June 2025. Commitments are contractual amounts, not cash paid in FY2025. Right-of-use depreciation is a non-cash charge and is not added to cash spending.
The Falcon demerger gain softened the FY2022 statutory loss.
Selected loss drivers
A$m| Measure | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 | Δ FY2024→FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Corporate and administration expenses | (6.8) | (5.8) | (6.3) | (6.0) | ~(3.9) | +2.1 |
| Net gain from Falcon demerger | nil | 47.0 | nil | N/D | N/D | Not calculated |
| Interest income (FY2021-FY2024) / interest received (FY2025) | 0.2 | 0.1 | 2.9 | 5.0 | N/C | Not calculated |
| Income tax benefit/(expense) | 3.1 | (0.2) | 1.2 | 5.1 | (1.9) | -7.0 |
Basis: Consolidated statutory income-statement amounts. Positive tax benefit is presented as income; FY2025's source presents A$1.917m as a positive tax expense, which is shown below as a negative calculated effect on profit or loss for a consistent benefit/(expense) convention.Δ = latest minus previous signed value, calculated before display rounding, in each row’s unit; not an investment return.
Cash and equity declined after FY2023 as project work continued.
Cash and cash equivalents
Total equity
Total liabilities
Consolidated financial position
A$m| Measure | FY2021 | FY2022 | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 | Δ FY2024→FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total assets | 162.7 | 186.8 | 199.1 | 170.7 | 136.0 | -34.7 |
| Total liabilities | 13.4 | 10.4 | 12.0 | 7.9 | 6.6 | -1.3 |
| Total equity | 149.2 | 176.3 | 187.1 | 162.8 | 129.4 | -33.4 |
| Cash and cash equivalents | 99.9 | 131.7 | 145.2 | 89.0 | 70.8 | -18.1 |
Basis: 30 June consolidated statutory financial-position totals. FY2021-FY2024 use the consolidated rather than parent-entity statement. FY2025 total assets are a disclosed calculation: total equity plus total liabilities.Δ = latest minus previous signed value, calculated before display rounding, in each row’s unit; not an investment return.
Project milestones are not production or revenue.
Definitions & reporting basis
Reporting basis and comparison notes
Consolidated statutory financial statements, Australian dollars. Financial tables are presented in A$ millions, converted from issuer A$'000 disclosures (divide by 1,000); losses and cash outflows retain their negative sign. Each period ends 30 June. Chalice reported one exploration and evaluation segment in FY2025; this is a development-stage review, not a producer scorecard.
- The company reported one exploration and evaluation segment in FY2025. Revenue, production, realised-price and unit-cost charts are intentionally omitted because they would not describe the selected development-stage evidence.
- Original-year statutory observations are retained. Some later documents show comparative classifications or balances alongside their current year; this report does not silently replace original-year selected series with later comparatives.
- FY2025 financial-position detail supports cash, liabilities, equity and lease liabilities. It explicitly records interest-bearing borrowings as not disclosed rather than zero; no net-debt line is calculated.
Terms used in the tables
- Exploration and evaluation expenditure
- Costs expensed in profit or loss during exploration and evaluation; the issuer states capitalisation begins only when technical feasibility and commercial viability are demonstrable.
- N/D
- Not disclosed in the selected evidence for that period. It is not a zero, nil or inference of absence.
Annual reports used
- FY2021 · Chalice Mining Limited · Annual Report to Shareholders. Year ended 2021-06-30
- FY2022 · Chalice Mining Limited · Annual Report to Shareholders. Year ended 2022-06-30
- FY2023 · Chalice Mining Limited · Annual Report to shareholders. Year ended 2023-06-30
- FY2024 · Chalice Mining Limited · Annual Report to Shareholders. Year ended 2024-06-30
- FY2025 · Chalice Mining Limited · Annual report. Year ended 2025-06-30
Sources, copyright and independence
The source references in this report identify the public disclosures used and should be read with the associated section, table and reporting-period qualifications. This report paraphrases, organises and compares those disclosures for descriptive and educational purposes rather than reproducing source text.
Copyright and other rights in linked reports, company names, logos and third-party materials remain with their respective owners. MII Research does not claim affiliation with or endorsement by the company covered in this report, the ASX or cited organisations.
AI-led method
This report uses AI actively and extensively for evidence extraction, comparison, organisation, calculation checks, drafting, translation planning and presentation. Material claims received reasonable editorial review against cited public sources; this was not an audit, assurance engagement or independent verification. Limitations in public sources, AI systems and review may leave errors, omissions, inconsistencies or translation, classification and interpretation errors.
Any AI-generated visual accompanying this report must carry an adjacent, visible AI-generated label or caption. Such visuals are illustrative rather than source evidence and do not replace the cited annual-report text, table or section source.
Information notice
This record is for general descriptive and educational information only. It is not financial-product, investment, legal, tax, technical or other professional advice; it is not a securities recommendation, valuation, target price, offer, solicitation or invitation to buy, sell or hold.
It does not consider any reader’s objectives, financial situation, needs, knowledge, experience or risk tolerance. Independently verify material information against the primary disclosures, obtain appropriate independent professional advice and do not use this record as the sole or primary basis for any decision.
Public sources are used in good faith, but no representation or warranty is made as to accuracy, completeness, reliability, currency or fitness for a particular purpose. To the maximum extent permitted by law, MII Research disclaims liability for direct, indirect, incidental, consequential, opportunity or investment loss arising from use of or reliance on this record; nothing excludes or limits liability that cannot lawfully be excluded or limited.
Report suspected errors to MII Research with the relevant report section and primary-source document and page reference so that the record can be reviewed and corrected where appropriate.