ASX: SYR · Five-year financial review

Syrah Resources Limited (ASX: SYR) - Five-Year Financial Review FY2021-FY2025

Syrah Resources reports in US dollars and operates Balama natural graphite and Vidalia active anode material. The tables compare five calendar financial years, show the FY2023 borrowing reclassification separately, and keep operating volumes apart from financial statement units.

Five twelve-month financial years ended 31 December 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024 and 2025; consolidated statements are in US dollars unless a row explicitly says otherwise. · Editorial review: 2026-09-24 · MII Research

Reading the tables: 0 (nil) is a supported zero. Other text distinguishes an amount included in another line, a non-applicable item, a separately unavailable component and an unresolved value. These are not interchangeable. Period-specific detail is labelled; complete year-by-year detail remains available.

FY2025 revenue
US$33.4m

Continuing operations, rounded from US$33.381m.

FY2025 loss after tax
US$100.7m

Consolidated continuing operations loss.

FY2025 operating cash flow
US$56.4m outflow

Net operating cash outflow.

Cash at 31 Dec 2025
US$77.1m

Cash and cash equivalents; includes restricted cash.

Five years in context

Balama restarted in 2021 and reached its five-year production high in 2022. Later campaign operation and the 2024 access disruption reduced output; production resumed in mid-2025. Vidalia completed its initial expansion in 2024 and sold AAM for customer qualification in 2024–2025. The operating table distinguishes graphite tonnes, AAM tonnes and graphite selling price.

All five years reported statutory losses and operating cash outflows. Equity issues, convertible notes and US government loan drawdowns supported the investment and operating program. Annual auditors flagged a going-concern material uncertainty from FY2023 onward; the FY2025 report also describes unresolved DOE and DFC loan defaults. The financial tables show the cash, borrowing and current-liability profile.

Events behind the numbers

FY2021

Balama restarts; Vidalia offtake agreed

Balama restarted production in March. Syrah also executed a Tesla AAM offtake agreement in December 2021.

FY2022

Vidalia investment and funding

The Vidalia Initial Expansion final investment decision was approved. Syrah completed an A$250m equity raising and closed a US$102m DOE loan facility; Balama achieved record production and sales.

FY2023

Campaign operations and DOE funding

Balama operated in campaign mode amid weaker Chinese graphite demand. Syrah fully drew US$98m of DOE loan advances for Vidalia during 2023.

FY2024

Vidalia begins AAM production; Balama interrupted

Vidalia completed construction in February and produced AAM for qualification. Balama access was constrained by protests from late September, with force majeure declared in December.

FY2025

Balama resumes; tax-credit cash received

Balama production recommenced in June. Vidalia qualification production and sales continued, and Syrah received US$11.696m of tax credit cash in its operating cash flows.

FINANCIAL REVIEW / 01

Statutory performance

FY2022 was the only year in this span with gross profit; FY2023–FY2025 returned to gross losses. FY2025 other income includes Section 45X production tax credits. FY2024 separately recognised US$9.957m of other expenses, reflecting a write-off of costs previously capitalised for Vidalia construction; its other-income and other-expense lines are shown separately in the table.

Revenue and loss after tax

US$'000

Revenue and loss after taxRevenue: FY2021 29,044; FY2022 106,180; FY2023 47,712; FY2024 31,516; FY2025 33,381 | Loss after income tax for the year: FY2021 -56,870; FY2022 -26,845; FY2023 -85,280; FY2024 -125,291; FY2025 -100,663-139k-71k-2,61166k134kFY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025Revenue, FY2021: 29,044 US$'000Revenue, FY2022: 106,180 US$'000Revenue, FY2023: 47,712 US$'000Revenue, FY2024: 31,516 US$'000Revenue, FY2025: 33,381 US$'000Loss after income tax for the year, FY2021: -56,870 US$'000Loss after income tax for the year, FY2022: -26,845 US$'000Loss after income tax for the year, FY2023: -85,280 US$'000Loss after income tax for the year, FY2024: -125,291 US$'000Loss after income tax for the year, FY2025: -100,663 US$'000
RevenueLoss after income tax for the year
US$ thousands; statutory continuing operations. Loss is plotted as a negative amount from the report table.

AI-generated presentation · values from Consolidated profit or loss, continuing operations; no missing values plotted as zero.

Consolidated profit or loss, continuing operations

US$'000

MetricFY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025
Revenue29,044106,18047,71231,51633,381
Cost of sales-61,663-92,876-72,492-103,364-95,210
Gross profit/(loss)-32,61913,304-24,780-71,848-61,829
Distribution costs-7,158-33,438-16,946-8,471-7,002
Administrative expenses-9,546-12,043-14,113-12,361-13,923
Other income/(expense) source line2,67111,853-9941,85522,172
Other expenses, separately presentedNot separately presentedNot separately presentedNot separately presented-9,9570 (nil)
Write-down of inventories-1,296-6,078-13,225-2,619-3,696
Loss before net finance and income tax-47,948-26,402-70,058-103,401-64,278
Net finance costs/(income)-6,215-3,008-12,055-20,806-35,413
Loss before income tax-54,163-29,410-82,113-124,207-99,691
Income tax (expense)/benefit-2,7072,565-3,167-1,084-972
Loss after income tax for the year-56,870-26,845-85,280-125,291-100,663

US$ thousands. Costs, losses and expenses are negative. FY2024 also reported US$9.957m of other expenses separately; the other-income row is shown as its own source line, not a netted amount.

Basis and presentation notes (4)
  • Other expenses, separately presented / FY2021 — Not separately presented: FY2021 profit or loss presents a single other income/(expense) source line, without a second separately presented other-expenses line; this is presentation, not zero.
  • Other expenses, separately presented / FY2022 — Not separately presented: FY2022 profit or loss presents a single other income/(expense) source line, without a second separately presented other-expenses line; this is presentation, not zero.
  • Other expenses, separately presented / FY2023 — Not separately presented: FY2023 profit or loss presents a single other income/(expense) source line, without a second separately presented other-expenses line; this is presentation, not zero.
  • Other expenses, separately presented / FY2025 — 0 (nil): FY2025 profit or loss presents the other-expenses line as an explicit dash, separate from other income.

Source: Syrah Resources annual reports FY2021–FY2025; exact records retained in the author evidence bundle.

Comprehensive loss and attribution

US$'000

MetricFY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025
Other comprehensive income/(loss), net of tax354-7,017-3,90210,855-6,539
Total comprehensive loss-56,516-33,862-89,182-114,436-107,202
— attributable to equity holders of Syrah Resources Limited-53,560-31,969-87,804-112,821-104,337
— attributable to non-controlling interest-2,956-1,893-1,378-1,615-2,865
Basic loss per sharecents-10.79-4.95-13.02-12.27-9.12

Comprehensive attribution includes non-controlling interests. Basic loss per share is US cents per share, rather than US$ thousands.

Source: Syrah Resources annual reports FY2021–FY2025; exact records retained in the author evidence bundle.

FINANCIAL REVIEW / 02

Assets, borrowings and liquidity

Total assets increased as Vidalia investment was capitalised, while borrowings and current liabilities grew. The FY2023 report and FY2024 comparative classify US$107.818m of the same FY2023 borrowings differently; the bridge makes that presentation change visible without treating it as a cash movement.

The issuer treated market capitalisation below book net assets as an impairment indicator in FY2024 and FY2025. The FY2025 Balama cash-generating unit recoverable amount was assessed at US$475m using assumptions sensitive to prices, exchange rates, discount rates and operating performance; this is an assessment value, not reported revenue or cash.

Cash and total assets

US$'000

Cash and total assetsCash and cash equivalents: FY2021 52,914; FY2022 90,376; FY2023 84,889; FY2024 87,467; FY2025 77,087 | Total assets: FY2021 428,888; FY2022 569,970; FY2023 700,048; FY2024 692,108; FY2025 711,1850199k398k597k797kFY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025Cash and cash equivalents, FY2021: 52,914 US$'000Cash and cash equivalents, FY2022: 90,376 US$'000Cash and cash equivalents, FY2023: 84,889 US$'000Cash and cash equivalents, FY2024: 87,467 US$'000Cash and cash equivalents, FY2025: 77,087 US$'000Total assets, FY2021: 428,888 US$'000Total assets, FY2022: 569,970 US$'000Total assets, FY2023: 700,048 US$'000Total assets, FY2024: 692,108 US$'000Total assets, FY2025: 711,185 US$'000
Cash and cash equivalentsTotal assets
US$ thousands at each 31 December, from the consolidated assets table.

AI-generated presentation · values from Consolidated assets at 31 December; no missing values plotted as zero.

Current and non-current borrowings

US$'000

Current and non-current borrowingsBorrowings (current): FY2021 Not separately presented; FY2022 0 (nil); FY2023 279,922; FY2024 146,436; FY2025 160,079 | Borrowings (non-current): FY2021 69,852; FY2022 70,925; FY2023 0 (nil); FY2024 109,983; FY2025 132,757078k157k235k314kFY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025Borrowings (current), FY2022: 0 (nil) US$'000Borrowings (current), FY2023: 279,922 US$'000Borrowings (current), FY2024: 146,436 US$'000Borrowings (current), FY2025: 160,079 US$'000Borrowings (non-current), FY2021: 69,852 US$'000Borrowings (non-current), FY2022: 70,925 US$'000Borrowings (non-current), FY2023: 0 (nil) US$'000Borrowings (non-current), FY2024: 109,983 US$'000Borrowings (non-current), FY2025: 132,757 US$'000
Borrowings (current)Borrowings (non-current)
US$ thousands; FY2023 uses its originally issued classification. The adjacent bridge shows the later restated FY2023 comparative.

AI-generated presentation · values from Consolidated liabilities and net assets at 31 December; no missing values plotted as zero.

Consolidated assets at 31 December

US$'000

MetricFY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025
Cash and cash equivalents52,91490,37684,88987,46777,087
Trade and other receivables (current)7,86520,9185,2696,83819,104
Inventories20,38525,19434,89728,48229,038
Total current assets81,559136,488125,055122,787125,229
Trade and other receivables (non-current)7,95510,2523,3798,7079,322
Property, plant and equipment180,520274,456425,199414,235397,172
Mining assets132,764119,869119,379115,686112,218
Intangible assets1294427148
Deferred tax assets25,96128,86127,00930,67967,236
Total non-current assets347,329433,482574,993569,321585,956
Total assets428,888569,970700,048692,108711,185

Source: Syrah Resources annual reports FY2021–FY2025; exact records retained in the author evidence bundle.

Consolidated liabilities and net assets at 31 December

US$'000

MetricFY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025
Trade and other payables (current)18,06225,67126,78012,91625,004
Borrowings (current)Not separately presented0 (nil)279,922146,436160,079
Lease liabilities (current)3,2292,0072,1782,301187
Provisions (current)2,1732,3023,0233,2832,399
Total current liabilities23,46429,980311,903164,936187,787
Trade and other payables (non-current)1,4961,5881,6871,7834,026
Borrowings (non-current)69,85270,9250 (nil)109,983132,757
Lease liabilities (non-current)12,98012,64113,74311,190211
Deferred tax liabilities3,6223,9585,27210,02647,437
Provisions (non-current)24,96012,70113,83911,96513,226
Total non-current liabilities112,910101,81334,541144,947197,657
Total liabilities136,374131,793346,444309,883385,444
Net assets (= total equity)292,514438,177353,604382,225325,741

FY2023 current and non-current borrowing classification uses the FY2023 report as first issued. The FY2024 report reclassified its FY2023 comparative; the bridge below shows both presentations. Total borrowings and total liabilities did not change in that reclassification.

Basis and presentation notes (3)
  • Borrowings (current) / FY2021 — Not separately presented: FY2021 financial-position statement separately reports non-current borrowings but no current-borrowings line; no numeric current amount is inferred from omission.
  • Borrowings (current) / FY2022 — 0 (nil): FY2023 comparative current-borrowings line shows a dash for 31 December 2022; non-current borrowings remain separately reported.
  • Borrowings (non-current) / FY2023 — 0 (nil): Original FY2023 balance sheet reports non-current borrowings as a dash; the later FY2024 restated comparative reclassifies US$107.818m and is retained separately.

Source: Syrah Resources annual reports FY2021–FY2025; exact records retained in the author evidence bundle.

FY2023 borrowing classification: original versus FY2024 restated comparative

US$'000

MetricFY2023 originalFY2023 restated in FY2024
Current borrowings279,922172,104
Non-current borrowings0 (nil)107,818
Total current liabilities311,903204,085
Total non-current liabilities34,541142,359

The FY2024 annual report moved US$107.818m of FY2023 borrowings from current to non-current following legal review. The source marks restated comparative borrowing rows with an asterisk. This is a presentation bridge, not a 2024 movement.

Basis and presentation notes (1)
  • Non-current borrowings / FY2023 original — 0 (nil): Original FY2023 non-current borrowings are explicitly dashed; FY2024 restated comparative is US$107.818m, a classification change rather than new debt.

Source: FY2023 annual report statement of financial position and FY2024 annual report restated FY2023 comparative; selected table text and row interpretations retained.

FINANCIAL REVIEW / 03

Operating cash, investment and financing

Operating cash flow remained negative throughout. Property, plant and equipment cash payments peaked during Vidalia construction in FY2023 and were much lower in FY2025. The cash-flow table separates receipts from customers from the FY2025 tax-credit receipt and separates historical lease interest from later combined lease payments.

Operating, investing and financing cash flow

US$'000

Operating, investing and financing cash flowNet cash from operating activities: FY2021 -35,068; FY2022 -31,196; FY2023 -59,872; FY2024 -78,641; FY2025 -56,362 | Net cash from investing activities: FY2021 -19,345; FY2022 -103,477; FY2023 -138,586; FY2024 -24,071; FY2025 -5,814 | Net cash from financing activities: FY2021 32,762; FY2022 172,269; FY2023 195,566; FY2024 105,895; FY2025 50,677-159k-60k39k137k236kFY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025Net cash from operating activities, FY2021: -35,068 US$'000Net cash from operating activities, FY2022: -31,196 US$'000Net cash from operating activities, FY2023: -59,872 US$'000Net cash from operating activities, FY2024: -78,641 US$'000Net cash from operating activities, FY2025: -56,362 US$'000Net cash from investing activities, FY2021: -19,345 US$'000Net cash from investing activities, FY2022: -103,477 US$'000Net cash from investing activities, FY2023: -138,586 US$'000Net cash from investing activities, FY2024: -24,071 US$'000Net cash from investing activities, FY2025: -5,814 US$'000Net cash from financing activities, FY2021: 32,762 US$'000Net cash from financing activities, FY2022: 172,269 US$'000Net cash from financing activities, FY2023: 195,566 US$'000Net cash from financing activities, FY2024: 105,895 US$'000Net cash from financing activities, FY2025: 50,677 US$'000
Net cash from operating activitiesNet cash from investing activitiesNet cash from financing activities
US$ thousands, directly from reported cash-flow subtotals.

AI-generated presentation · values from Consolidated cash flow; no missing values plotted as zero.

Consolidated cash flow

US$'000

MetricFY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025
Receipts from customers25,36198,23356,32732,10428,359
Tax credit receivedNot separately presentedNot separately presentedNot separately presentedNot separately presented11,696
Payments to suppliers and employees (incl. GST)-60,564-131,165-118,254-113,776-98,650
Interest received1351,7362,0553,0312,233
Net cash from operating activities-35,068-31,196-59,872-78,641-56,362
Payments for property, plant and equipment-21,622-99,117-145,998-24,071-5,814
Payments for intangibles-860 (nil)-1,0190 (nil)Not separately presented
Net cash from investing activities-19,345-103,477-138,586-24,071-5,814
Proceeds from issue of shares13,733180,7770 (nil)64,14545,524
Proceeds from issue of convertible note(s)21,0500 (nil)102,6000 (nil)Not applicable
Share issue transaction costs-223-5,1870 (nil)-2,045-1,731
Net proceeds from borrowings0 (nil)0 (nil)97,44249,21517,038
Repayment of borrowings (principal + interest)0 (nil)0 (nil)0 (nil)-2,207-9,350
Lease interest paid-1,215-986Included in combined lineIncluded in combined lineIncluded in combined line
Lease principal paid-583-2,335Included in combined lineIncluded in combined lineIncluded in combined line
Lease principal and interest paid-1,798-3,321-4,476-3,213-880
Net cash from financing activities32,762172,269195,566105,89550,677
Net change in cash and cash equivalents (pre-FX)-21,65137,596-2,8923,183-11,499
Effects of exchange rate changes-427-134-2,595-6051,119
Cash and cash equivalents at end of year52,91490,37684,88987,46777,087

US$ thousands, cash basis. The FY2025 US$11.696m tax-credit receipt appears separately from customer receipts. Earlier years have no separately presented tax-credit receipt line. Finance proceeds and repayments are cash-flow categories, not debt carrying values.

Lease principal and interest were disclosed as separate financing cash lines in FY2021-FY2022; the comparable combined outflows of US$1.798m and US$3.321m are calculated from those exact components. From FY2023, issuer statements report one combined lease-payment line, so the component rows say Included in combined line and are not extra cash flows. FY2021 borrowing proceeds and repayment dashes are corroborated by explicit nil annual records and FY2022 comparatives.

Basis and presentation notes (23)
  • Tax credit received / FY2021 — Not separately presented: FY2021 selected operating cash-flow statement has no separate tax-credit-received line. The FY2025 US$11.696m receipt is a separately identified later-year item, not a prior-year nil.
  • Tax credit received / FY2022 — Not separately presented: FY2022 selected operating cash-flow statement has no separate tax-credit-received line. The FY2025 US$11.696m receipt is a separately identified later-year item, not a prior-year nil.
  • Tax credit received / FY2023 — Not separately presented: FY2023 selected operating cash-flow statement has no separate tax-credit-received line. The FY2025 US$11.696m receipt is a separately identified later-year item, not a prior-year nil.
  • Tax credit received / FY2024 — Not separately presented: FY2024 selected operating cash-flow statement has no separate tax-credit-received line. The FY2025 US$11.696m receipt is a separately identified later-year item, not a prior-year nil.
  • Payments for intangibles / FY2022 — 0 (nil): FY2022 investing statement explicitly shows a dash for payments for intangibles.
  • Payments for intangibles / FY2024 — 0 (nil): FY2024 investing statement explicitly shows a dash for payments for intangibles.
  • Payments for intangibles / FY2025 — Not separately presented: FY2025 investing statement does not separately present payments for intangibles; no zero is inferred.
  • Proceeds from issue of shares / FY2023 — 0 (nil): FY2023 financing statement explicitly shows a dash for cash proceeds from share issues; non-cash equity remuneration is distinct.
  • Proceeds from issue of convertible note(s) / FY2022 — 0 (nil): FY2022 financing statement explicitly shows a dash for convertible-note issue proceeds.
  • Proceeds from issue of convertible note(s) / FY2024 — 0 (nil): FY2024 financing statement explicitly shows a dash for new convertible-note issue proceeds; note conversions into equity are non-cash and separate.
  • Proceeds from issue of convertible note(s) / FY2025 — Not applicable: No new convertible-note issuance is separately reported in the FY2025 financing cash-flow statement; existing AustralianSuper notes were issued in FY2023 and remain liabilities, so no FY2025 issue-proceeds event is assigned.
  • Share issue transaction costs / FY2023 — 0 (nil): FY2023 financing statement explicitly shows a dash for share issue transaction costs.
  • Net proceeds from borrowings / FY2021 — 0 (nil): FY2021 original dash is corroborated by a second annual extraction R000475 that explicitly records nil proceeds and by the FY2022 comparative R002169.
  • Net proceeds from borrowings / FY2022 — 0 (nil): FY2022 financing statement explicitly shows a dash for borrowing proceeds.
  • Repayment of borrowings (principal + interest) / FY2021 — 0 (nil): FY2021 original dash is corroborated by annual extraction R000474 that explicitly records nil repayments and by FY2022 comparative R002167.
  • Repayment of borrowings (principal + interest) / FY2022 — 0 (nil): FY2022 financing statement explicitly shows a dash for borrowing principal-and-interest repayments.
  • Repayment of borrowings (principal + interest) / FY2023 — 0 (nil): FY2024 comparative financing statement explicitly shows a dash for FY2023 borrowing principal-and-interest repayments.
  • Lease interest paid / FY2023 — Included in combined line: FY2023 issuer cash-flow statement combines lease principal and interest in one payment; the combined amount is shown in the row below and cannot be split reliably.
  • Lease interest paid / FY2024 — Included in combined line: FY2024 issuer cash-flow statement combines lease principal and interest in one payment; the combined amount is shown in the row below and cannot be split reliably.
  • Lease interest paid / FY2025 — Included in combined line: FY2025 issuer cash-flow statement combines lease principal and interest in one payment; the combined amount is shown in the row below and cannot be split reliably.
  • Lease principal paid / FY2023 — Included in combined line: FY2023 issuer cash-flow statement combines lease principal and interest in one payment; the combined amount is shown in the row below and cannot be split reliably.
  • Lease principal paid / FY2024 — Included in combined line: FY2024 issuer cash-flow statement combines lease principal and interest in one payment; the combined amount is shown in the row below and cannot be split reliably.
  • Lease principal paid / FY2025 — Included in combined line: FY2025 issuer cash-flow statement combines lease principal and interest in one payment; the combined amount is shown in the row below and cannot be split reliably.

Source: Syrah Resources annual reports FY2021–FY2025; exact records retained in the author evidence bundle.

Capital expenditure commitments at year end

US$'000

MetricFY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025
Total capital commitments20,598108,91341,02729,02223,057

Undiscounted commitments, not cash capex.

Source: Syrah Resources annual reports FY2021–FY2025; exact records retained in the author evidence bundle.

FINANCIAL REVIEW / 04

Equity funding and shareholder returns

Share issuance and convertible-note conversion expanded the ordinary share base over this period. Syrah reported no dividends paid, recommended or declared in any of the five financial years. The share-movement table shows major issue categories and the reported opening and closing balances; it does not imply the selected categories alone form the full roll-forward.

Ordinary share capital movements

ordinary shares

MetricFY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025
Opening balance (ordinary shares)shares413,493,062498,734,723670,570,710675,897,7301,034,891,766
Issue of new shares – Institutional placementsharesNot applicable130,478,794Not applicable111,638,89976,934,677
Entitlement offer (FY2021 value is share purchase plan)shares20,004,15538,505,823Not applicable66,551,623192,304,248
Issue of new shares – Convertible Note conversionsharesNot applicableNot applicableNot applicable176,296,803Not applicable
Closing balance (ordinary shares)shares498,734,723670,570,710675,897,7301,034,891,7661,311,538,739

Selected major issue categories. Closing balance is issuer reported; omitted small movements such as equity remuneration and options are retained in extraction evidence but not itemised here.

The FY2021 20,004,155-share issue in the entitlement row is actually labelled a share purchase plan by the issuer; its qualifier identifies this distinct transaction. FY2023 contains no placement or entitlement issue in the annual roll-forward; FY2024 conversion shares are not backcast or carried into FY2025.

Basis and presentation notes (7)
  • Issue of new shares – Institutional placement / FY2021 — Not applicable: FY2021 share movement is a share purchase plan, not an institutional placement. The institutional-placement amount in the FY2021 report belongs to FY2020.
  • Issue of new shares – Institutional placement / FY2023 — Not applicable: FY2023 share-capital movements include equity-settled remuneration, not a placement. The next institutional placement was announced after year-end and issued in FY2024.
  • Entitlement offer (FY2021 value is share purchase plan) / FY2023 — Not applicable: FY2023 share-capital roll-forward does not contain an entitlement-offer issuance; the later offer was launched in March 2024.
  • Issue of new shares – Convertible Note conversion / FY2021 — Not applicable: FY2021 roll-forward contains share purchase plan and equity remuneration, with no convertible-note conversion issue; the convertible note issuance was a debt cash event.
  • Issue of new shares – Convertible Note conversion / FY2022 — Not applicable: FY2022 share roll-forward lists placement, entitlement, options and equity remuneration, without a convertible-note conversion issue.
  • Issue of new shares – Convertible Note conversion / FY2023 — Not applicable: FY2023 share roll-forward records equity-settled remuneration, with no convertible-note conversion shares.
  • Issue of new shares – Convertible Note conversion / FY2025 — Not applicable: FY2025 share roll-forward has placement, entitlement, remuneration and employee-trust movements; the cited conversion-share figure is explicitly FY2024 comparative.

Source: Syrah Resources annual reports FY2021–FY2025; exact records retained in the author evidence bundle.

FINANCIAL REVIEW / 05

Balama and Vidalia operating drivers

Balama production and third-party graphite sales declined after the FY2022 peak, with the late-2024 access disruption and mid-2025 recommencement marking a clear operating boundary. Vidalia AAM volumes in 2024 and 2025 were qualification-related; the table keeps those tonnes separate from Balama kt and graphite price.

Balama production and third-party sales

kt

Balama production and third-party salesBalama natural graphite production: FY2021 72; FY2022 163; FY2023 94; FY2024 35; FY2025 67 | Balama third-party natural graphite sales: FY2021 54; FY2022 162; FY2023 85; FY2024 50; FY2025 55045.6491.28137183FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025Balama natural graphite production, FY2021: 72 ktBalama natural graphite production, FY2022: 163 ktBalama natural graphite production, FY2023: 94 ktBalama natural graphite production, FY2024: 35 ktBalama natural graphite production, FY2025: 67 ktBalama third-party natural graphite sales, FY2021: 54 ktBalama third-party natural graphite sales, FY2022: 162 ktBalama third-party natural graphite sales, FY2023: 85 ktBalama third-party natural graphite sales, FY2024: 50 ktBalama third-party natural graphite sales, FY2025: 55 kt
Balama natural graphite productionBalama third-party natural graphite sales
kt, rounded issuer annual narrative figures; both series use the operating drivers table.

AI-generated presentation · values from Balama and Vidalia operating volumes and price; no missing values plotted as zero.

Balama and Vidalia operating volumes and price

Mixed; row units shown

MetricFY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025
Balama natural graphite productionkt72163943567
Balama third-party natural graphite saleskt54162855055
Weighted average graphite sales priceUS$/t CIF503661582647606
Vidalia AAM productiontProduced; volume not reportedProduced; volume not reported0 (nil)465618
Vidalia AAM qualification salestNot applicableNot applicableNot applicable45433

Balama production and sales values are rounded issuer narrative volumes in kt. Vidalia FY2023 production is stated as nil in the FY2024 annual comparative. FY2024–FY2025 Vidalia sales were qualification volumes, not commercial offtake sales.

Vidalia produced on-specification AAM for customer qualification in FY2021-FY2022, but no annual tonnes are resolved in selected evidence. The FY2024 report gives an explicit FY2023 nil production comparative. Qualification samples are not treated as qualification sales.

Basis and presentation notes (6)
  • Vidalia AAM production / FY2021 — Produced; volume not reported: Vidalia commenced integrated on-specification AAM production after furnace commissioning in May 2021, but the selected annual evidence gives no FY2021 tonnage.
  • Vidalia AAM production / FY2022 — Produced; volume not reported: FY2022 annual narrative says integrated on-specification AAM production continued for customer testing; it gives no annual tonnage.
  • Vidalia AAM production / FY2023 — 0 (nil): FY2024 annual comparative explicitly states Vidalia AAM production was nil in 2023; first integrated production at the expanded facility occurred after FY2023.
  • Vidalia AAM qualification sales / FY2021 — Not applicable: FY2021 Vidalia output was supplied for target-customer testing and qualification; the selected annual evidence does not describe commercial or qualification sales tonnage.
  • Vidalia AAM qualification sales / FY2022 — Not applicable: FY2022 narrative describes iterative customer qualification testing, not a reported qualification-sales volume.
  • Vidalia AAM qualification sales / FY2023 — Not applicable: FY2023 report says offtake sales would commence after product qualification and integrated production at the expanded facility occurred after year-end; no FY2023 qualification-sales volume is assigned.

Source: Annual operational records from the five selected Syrah annual report extractions.

Cost of sales components

US$'000

MetricFY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025
Mining and production costs44,23070,44965,38963,47070,849
Logistics costs11,86018,16314,00213,85510,157
Government royalties4331,716903260554
Depreciation and amortisation expense10,15110,53311,99918,80920,652
Changes in inventories-7,126-8,471-19,8965,208-7,307
Other costs2,115486951,762305
Total cost of sales61,66392,87672,492103,36495,210

US$ thousands. This note presents positive cost components; changes in inventories retain their reported sign. The FY2024 and FY2025 values use current-year columns, not later comparative columns.

Source: Syrah Resources annual reports FY2021–FY2025; exact records retained in the author evidence bundle.

Reading the figures

  • This author edition uses the frozen annual extraction records and three selected same-issuer annual database tables. It has not been independently semantically reviewed or published.
  • Cash and cash equivalents include restricted balances; the headline amount is not unrestricted liquidity.
  • FY2023 borrowings are shown as originally issued in the five-year position series. The FY2024 annual report restated the FY2023 current/non-current split; both bases appear in the bridge.
  • Vidalia AAM qualification sales are not presented as commercial offtake sales. No issuer forecast or valuation is included.

Annual-report source registry

  • Syrah Resources Limited 31 December 2021 Annual ReportFinancial year ended 2021-12-31; annual report dated 2022-03-24.
  • Syrah Resources Limited 31 December 2022 Annual ReportFinancial year ended 2022-12-31; annual report dated 2023-03-30.
  • Syrah Resources Limited 31 December 2023 Annual ReportFinancial year ended 2023-12-31; annual report dated 2024-03-25.
  • Syrah Resources Limited 2024 Annual ReportFinancial year ended 2024-12-31; annual report dated 2025-03-24.
  • Syrah Resources Limited 2025 Annual ReportFinancial year ended 2025-12-31; annual report dated 2026-03-26.

Prepared from the existing annual extraction datasets, supplemented only by selected same-company annual-report tables and saved row interpretations. No new raw-document extraction or web financial research was used for this test.

Sources, copyright and independence

The source references in this report identify the public disclosures used and should be read with the associated section, table and reporting-period qualifications. This report paraphrases, organises and compares those disclosures for descriptive and educational purposes rather than reproducing source text.

Copyright and other rights in linked reports, company names, logos and third-party materials remain with their respective owners. MII Research does not claim affiliation with or endorsement by the company covered in this report, the ASX or cited organisations.

AI-led method

This report uses AI actively and extensively for evidence extraction, comparison, organisation, calculation checks, drafting, translation planning and presentation. Material claims received reasonable editorial review against cited public sources; this was not an audit, assurance engagement or independent verification. Limitations in public sources, AI systems and review may leave errors, omissions, inconsistencies or translation, classification and interpretation errors.

Any AI-generated visual accompanying this report must carry an adjacent, visible AI-generated label or caption. Such visuals are illustrative rather than source evidence and do not replace the cited annual-report text, table or section source.

Information notice

This record is for general descriptive and educational information only. It is not financial-product, investment, legal, tax, technical or other professional advice; it is not a securities recommendation, valuation, target price, offer, solicitation or invitation to buy, sell or hold.

It does not consider any reader’s objectives, financial situation, needs, knowledge, experience or risk tolerance. Independently verify material information against the primary disclosures, obtain appropriate independent professional advice and do not use this record as the sole or primary basis for any decision.

Public sources are used in good faith, but no representation or warranty is made as to accuracy, completeness, reliability, currency or fitness for a particular purpose. To the maximum extent permitted by law, MII Research disclaims liability for direct, indirect, incidental, consequential, opportunity or investment loss arising from use of or reliance on this record; nothing excludes or limits liability that cannot lawfully be excluded or limited.

Report suspected errors to MII Research with the relevant report section and primary-source document and page reference so that the record can be reviewed and corrected where appropriate.